Indie-mation, The Latest Animation News

LAAF Announces 2018 Winners, Honors VR Pioneer

Share on Pinterest


The Los Angeles Animation Festival honored Evette Vargas last night with the Festival Pioneer Award for her VR work, and announced LAAF and Toon Boom winners:

Best Student Stop Motion Animation:
All the Way Down, by Chun Chun Chang

Best Student Mixed Media Animation:
Relation Ship, by Zoey Lin


Best Story
The Magical Mystery of Musigny, by Emmett Goodman


Best Children’s Animation
Mi Abuelita, by Giselle Perez


Best Cut-Out Animation
Concatenate, by Simone Northey


Best Illustrative Animation
The Backward Astronomer, by Jake Nelson


Best CGI Animation
Final_Final, by Matt Greenwood


Best Traditional 2D Animation
Bad Tuna, by Deena Baum


Best Mixed Media Animation
The Lineman, by Jay Shipman


Best Classic Animation Style
Embraced, by Justine Vuylteker


Best Claymation
The Mud, by Brandon Lake


Best Character Design
Happy Foot vs Sad Foot, by Mike Hollingsworth


Best Art Direction
Unexpected Discoveries, by James Mabery


Best Student Direction
Descent, by Hailey Katelynn Marshall


Best Design
Diving in a Sea of Light, by Micah Buzan


Best Student Comedy
Barry, by Anchi Shen


Best Comedy
Spider vs The Living Dead, by Scott DaRos


Best Direction
Animal Behaviour, by Alison Snowden & David Fine



Best Experimental
Floreana, by Louis Morton


Best Commercial
VOICING CSA: The Mouse, by Aaron Wood


Best Comedy
Animal Behaviour, by Alison Snowden & David Fine


Best Musical Video
Emulate – Okay Kaya, by Daniel Zvereff


Best Character Based
Little Bandits, by Alex Avagimian


Best Documentary
New York City Sketchbook, by Willy Hartland


Best Short from a Series
Lullaby Theories: A Secret Message, by Jonathan Lacocque


Best Motion Graphics
Equipoise, by Simo Liu


Humanitarian Award

LAND OF THE FREE? – Documentary Animation Production class: Alissa Michelle Brasington, Liam Campbell, Brian Cawley, Lakota DodgingHorse, Ken Egu, C. Leigh Goldsmith, Haley Hudkins, Hannah Kreiswirth, Kaitlyn Leewing, Sequoyah Madison, Molly Murphy, Patrice Pinardo, Chenglin Xie

Award of Excellence Presented by Sangaria Ramune

Tectonic, by Ed Skudder


Best Feature

North of Blue, by Joanna Priestly

Best of the Fest

Floreana, by Louis Morton


LAAF 2018 was an exciting festival featuring so much amazing independent animation all packed into one weekend. We’re looking forward to 2019!

Congratulations to the 2018 winners!

Share on Pinterest